In Sickness and in Health


Sometimes, we tend to get sick with a virus or a flu, so I noticed an interesting thing about something that occurs when I don’t feel very well. And these are pretty much positives. First off, I noticed that I could watch scary movies and not get scared, not care about anything that goes on in a personal way, even if I watch the thing at night time. Usually though, I will at first refuse to watch but then again, I decide that I can “handle” it. Anyways, what happens is that I get super scared, and then by the time that I need to go to bed, I’m afraid to go and take a shower and such before I can go to my bed and hide myself away from the darkness of the night under my covers. I think that there’s a reasonable solution to this thought of mine, though. Basically we’re only human, and people tend to look for trouble or drama, or occasionally  conflict and problem…it’s in our nature : ) So I thought, when an individual is ill, they already have enough problems on their hands, and all they want is to get better. Therefore, we don’t care about what we might’ve seen in a scary movie, because we feel reasonable towards the subject, and treat it with no importance because we know that whatever was in the movie, was a fake and you’ll be fine. To me this approach to the situation seems quite logical. Has anything like this happened to you before?

3 thoughts on “In Sickness and in Health

  1. “So I thought, when an individual is ill, they already have enough problems on their hands, and all they want is to get better. Therefore, we don’t care about what we might’ve seen in a scary movie…”

    Ugh, happens to me ALL THE TIME. When people are groaning about their problems when I’m sick, or something not really concerning me, I just tend to zone out….usually wallowing in my self-pity, or thinking about that nice, hot bowl of chicken noodle soup waiting for me at home….

  2. That happened to me when I had the flu and just sat on a plane and didn’t worry at all for the first time in ages!
    I volunteer at a kids’ radio station in a hospital and one really cool thing that I learnt about being sick is that laughing and having fun makes you not only feel better but releases lots of good chemicals in your body so you need fewer pain killers – amazing hey?
    Next time you’re sick, try watching a comedy and see if that works too 🙂

    • Well, I totally love to laugh…I would actually describe it as a hobby of mine. And of course, a positive mood makes for a healthier body and person altogether!

Leave a Reply

