Don’t Be Realistic, Dream


  Sometimes, I encounter people who act upon situations too realistically. For example, a conversation with my peers came up, and I spoke of attending Stanford University. Now, I have had this dream since I was a fourth grader. My parents and another couple of their friends, took me to see Stanford’s campus for the very first time. He might’ve not thought that this would stick with me for the rest of my life, but my father said to me, “someday, you will be attending, and studying here.” I forever, remembered, and ever since, Stanford has been my dream school. So, my friend was doubting me. That is incorrect of her though. She was acting narrow-mindedly. As small children, we have the wildest, craziest dreams and as we grow older, we limit ourselves greatly. It’s not our fault though. We look up towards our parents, and how they restrict themselves. But when the world is so full of opportunities, it’s a bit crazy. Our realism restricts our minds. The way most of us are brought up, though, are guardians say, “don’t touch that” or “stop, that’s bad, don’t do it”. Afterwards, we are more cautious. However, when we dream for ourselves, most will start out with, “I want this, but I can’t because___.” Stop with the, “…but, I can’t because___.” It doesn’t matter, because as long as you know what you want to achieve, you will get there. Do not doubt yourself, for when you do, you begin to limit your mind which is the only thing in your way. If we take my dream, for instance, currently I just focus on having good grades such as nothing below an “A-” as well as extracurricular activities and sports. I’m working towards my dream. It is not what my life is centered around, but it always remains in the back of my mind, with anything I set out to do. I just think, how will this action that I am about to take, a POSITIVE contribution towards my dream? How will this affect me? If one of your peers doubts you, then they are narrow in their dreams and thoughts. Don’t go down with them, instead take them up with you. Tell them all the reasons why they CAN do something when they say why they cannot. Dream on my friends, don’t be realistic. Instead, expand your mind’s boundaries and dream 🙂

11 thoughts on “Don’t Be Realistic, Dream

  1. Everything we do in life more or less starts with a dream … a dream about that special handbag, holiday …. new washing machine. Einstein said – sleep well but dream carefully, because with dreams starts responsibility Great post.

  2. One of my favorite quotes of all time:
    “All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible.”
    – T.E. Lawrence

    Those who do not believe in their dreams, claiming to be too far-fetched, or unrealistic, often do not even try to accomplish their dreams. If you BELIEVE it’s impossible, then it forever will be, until you change your mindset.

    Now, then there are those who do believe in themselves, and their dreams. Those are the people, like the Wright Brothers, Galileo, Steve Jobs, etc. that had a vision, and stuck to it. They were the ones that made their “crazy dream” become reality.

    quote by Steve Jobs:

    “When you grow up you tend to get told the world is the way it is and you’re life is just to live your life inside the world. Try not to bash into the walls too much. Try to have a nice family, have fun, save a little money.
    That’s a very limited life. Life can be much broader once you discover one simple fact: Everything around you that you call life was made up by people that were no smarter than you and you can change it, you can influence it, you can build your own things that other people can use.
    Once you learn that, you’ll never be the same again.”

    Of course, you know which category you belong to. 😉

  3. Dream and play is what I do with my camera. Thank you for putting it in to words.

    I love the lyrics ‘The Dreamer’ by Bliss N Eso from Day of the Dog.

  4. Keep that positive thought up! How we think most certainly affects the outcome of anything we undertake.

  5. Hi!
    I liked your post – you´re so right with your thoughts! Dreams & wishes are also my topics about that I´m writing in my german blogs. We have to spread the word how important is to dream our life. It´s great that also you´ll encourage other people in don´t giving up their dreams. If we believe in our dreams, they will come true – YES!! Dreams connect people in the whole world …

    “Some people say that dreaming gets you nowhere in life. But I say you can’t get anywhere in life without dreaming.” (Rose Zadra)

Leave a Reply

